BEAU PLAN,
A CITY WITH A RICH HERITAGE

The Beau Plan region is alive with natural, historical and cultural heritage – a legacy
that gives it a unique character and soul.

A BOTANICAL GARDEN AND TROPICAL ORCHARDS

In 1770, Pierre Poivre designed and created the southern hemisphere’s first botanical garden in Pamplemousses. Even today, the region seen from the sky looks more like a lush and verdant forest than a network of charming villages.

In addition to the endemic and tropical species at the Pamplemousses Botanical Garden, Beau Plan’s colourful orchards are home to a wide variety of fruit trees. In summer, lychees are harvested beneath the shade of jacarandas and flame trees in full bloom.

180 YEARS OF MAURITIAN STORIES

As one of the oldest villages on the island, Pamplemousses has always offered an incredible lifestyle. French governor Mahé de La Bourdonnais chose to build his then-residence here, while writer Bernardin de Saint-Pierre sited the burial of Paul and Virginie’s eponymous heroes in the area.

Just a few kilometres away, an avenue lined with majestic Indian laurel trees leads to the historic mansion of Mauricia and its beautiful gardens.

La Villebague, another of the region’s grand estates, is a fine example of Creole architecture, with its colonnaded veranda, arabesques and Wedgewood blue shutters.

CULTURAL DIVERSITY PAST AND PRESENT

Cane fields, the parquet floors of old houses and vestiges of cut stone are a testament to those who contributed to Pamplemousses’ historical development, from slaves and indentured labourers to shopkeepers of Chinese origin and land owners. L’Aventure du Sucre pays tribute to these men and women, taking the visitor on a cultural journey to discover the history of the Mauritian sugar industry and its many protagonists.

Nowadays, the region’s villages proudly celebrate their multiculturalism. The Village Council organises regular sports tournaments to unite Pamplemousses’ young people around a common passion.

BEAU PLAN, UNE VILLE
AU COEUR D’UN RICHE HERITAGE

La région de Beau Plan vit au rythme de son patrimoine naturel, historique et culturel – un héritage
important qui lui confère une âme et un cachet unique.

Jardin botanique et vergers tropicaux

En 1770, le premier jardin botanique de l’hémisphère sud, imaginé et conçu par Pierre Poivre, voit le jour à Pamplemousses. Encore aujourd’hui, la région vue du ciel s’apparente plus à une immense forêt tropicale qu’à un entrelacement de charmants villages.

Aux espèces endémiques et tropicales du Jardin de Pamplemousses et Mahé de La Bourdonnais s’ajoutent les vergers colorés de Beau Plan, où l’on cueille en été des letchis à l’ombre des flamboyants et des jacarandas en fleurs.

180 ans d’histoires mauriciennes

Une grande douceur de vivre émane de Pamplemousses, l’un des plus anciens villages de l’île. C’est le quartier choisi par le gouverneur français Mahé de Labourdonnais pour y établir sa demeure d’alors, et par l’écrivain Bernardin de Saint-Pierre pour y enterrer les héros éponymes de son célèbre roman Paul et Virginie.

À quelques kilomètres à peine, une allée bordée d’arbres de l’intendance mène à la maison historique de Mauricia, entourée de magnifiques jardins.

Parée d’une varangue à colonnades typique, d’arabesques et de volets bleus Wedgewood, La Villebague – autre grande « dame » de la région – est un bel exemple d’architecture créole.

La diversité culturelle d’hier et d’aujourd’hui

Les parquets en bois des vieilles maisons, les champs de cannes et les pierres de taille témoignent de la présence de tous ceux qui ont contribué au développement de la région – des esclaves aux travailleurs engagés, en passant par les propriétaires terriens et les boutiquiers d’origine chinoise. Des hommes et des femmes à qui L’Aventure du Sucre rend hommage à travers un parcours culturel axé sur l’histoire de l’industrie sucrière à Maurice et ses incontournables protagonistes.

De nos jours, les villages de la région célèbrent avec fierté leur multiculturalisme, et les tournois sportifs organisés régulièrement par le Village Council rassemblent les jeunes de Pamplemousses autour d’une passion commune.